February 28, 2001

 Brooks Named the TranSouth Player of theYear; All-Conference Team Announced

Jackson, TN—Anthony Brooks, a native of Bethel Springs, Tennessee, was named the TranSouth Conference player of the year. The 6-10 senior led the conference in scoring the entire season along. Brooks also finished first the conference in three-point percentage, second in rebounding behind teammate Enelio Moreno. Brooks ranked third in the NAIA in scoring with his 24.7 points per game.

During his career season, Brooks broke seven Union records. Those records are: points in a season with 790, points in a game with 49, scoring average with a 24.7 average, blocks in a season with 75, blocks in career with 245, field goal attempts in a game with 26, and field goal attempts in a season with 511. Brooks with continue to add to these totals as the Bulldogs begin play in the TranSouth and NAIA Tournaments.

The Bulldogs faired well in the voting as all five starters received sections, two first teamers, one second team selection, and two all-freshman. Along with Brooks, sophomore forward Enelio Moreno was named to the first team. Moreno averaged just short of a double-double for the season with his 12.7 and 9.8 points per game. Moreno led the conference in rebounding this season. Sophomre guard Zach Wiggs was named to the second team, while freshman starters Chima Abakwue and Will Harris were named to the All-Freshman team. Abakue made the most three-pointers in the conference this season with 78.

The Bulldogs open the TranSouth Tournament at home on Thursday as the battle the Vikings from Berry College. The game will begin at 7:00 PM.

First Team All-Conference
Anthony Brooks - Union University
Michael Blivens - Trevecca Nazarene University
JoVann Johnson - Lee University
Carlo Singleton - Lee University
Johnny Goodman - Martin Methodist College
Desmond Allison - Martin Methodist College
Demetrius Morgan - Lee University
Jamie Norsworthy - Freed Hardeman University
Enelio Moreno - Union University
Tony Lambert - Freed Hardeman University

Second Team All-Conference
Jared Austin - Trevecca Nazarene University
Billy Linson - Lyon College
Zach Wiggs - Union University
Eric Herrick - Berry College
Thomas Rost - Lyon College

All-Freshman Team
Chima Abakwue - Union University
Brandon Byrd - Lyon College
Kirk Feinswog - Berry College
William Harris - Union University
Patrick Ridley - Berry College

Player of the Year - Anthony Brooks - Union University
Newcomer of the Year - Desmond Allison - Martin Methodist College
Coach of the Year - Rick Hughes - Lee University


(901) 661-5463

Up-to-Date Scores and Information

Men's Basketball | Women's Basketball | Baseball | Softball | Women's Cross Country
Sports Information | Golf | Men's Tennis | Women's Tennis | Men's Soccer | Women's Volleyball