April 28, 2001

Union Softball Wins NCCAA National Championship

Marion, IN--The Lady Bulldogs of Union brought home their first NCCAA National Championship on Friday.  Union defeated East Texas Baptist University twice on Friday to game the title.  Junior pitcher from Herrin, Illinois was named the NCCAA Player of the Year while head coach Brian Dun received the NCCAA Coach of the Year honor.  

In the first game on Friday, Union defeated East Texas Baptist 2-0 in the finals of the winner's bracket.  The Lady Bulldogs would play East Texas Baptist again in the championship game.  Union came from behind on a Jennifer Sabourin bases loaded double in the bottom of the fifth to put the Lady Bulldogs on top 2-1.  That would be the eventual final as freshman Leah Gronberg would pick up the win.  

Several Lady Bulldogs were honored by the NCCAA (National Christian College Athletic Association).  On the All-Tournament team was Leah Gronberg, Brandi Park, and the MVP Rachel Murray.  Named to the NCCAA First Team All-American was player of the year Rachel Murray, Ame Clapsaddle, Jennifer Sabourin, and Leah Gronberg.  Honorable Mentioned were Brandi Park and Johnna Porter.  Being named to the NCCAA Academic All-American squad was Brandi Park, Michelle Gardner, and Lori Neal.  And Head Coach Brian Dunn was named the NCCAA Coach of the Year.

The Lady Bulldogs will be at the TranSouth Conference Tournament in Nashville, TN during the first week of May.  On May 9-11, Union will host the NAIA Region XI Tournament with the winner traveling to Decatur, Alabama for the NAIA Softball World Series.


Media Contact:  Steven Aldridge
Phone:  (901) 661-5027
Fax:  (901) 661-5182

Men's Basketball | Women's Basketball | Baseball | Softball | Women's Cross Country
Sports Information | Golf | Men's Tennis | Women's Tennis | Men's Soccer | Women's Volleyball