Union University

Union Athletics

Athletics News Release

Union sweeps TranSouth women’s basketball postseason honors

JACKSON, Tenn. - 3/2/2009 - The TranSouth Athletic Conference released the 2008-09 women's basketball all-conference team and postseason awards. Union, who won the regular season title with an undefeated record, claimed all four of the top awards. Josephine Owino was named Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. Freshman of the Year was awarded to Lavanda Ross was also earned Newcomer of the Year. Mark Campbell earned his third straight Coach of the Year award.

In addition to taking all four top honors, Union had several more players to make the postseason honors list. Joining Owino on the TranSouth All-Conference first team was Kaitlin Dudley, Kayla Hudson, and Merideth Jacobs. Ross was named to the All-Freshman team. Jacobs, Hudson, Lindsey Flynn, and Laura Crittendon were named TranSouth Scholar Athletes.

Click here for information on each of the players honored from Union.

Josephine Owino, a 6-foot-4 senior from Mombasa, Kenya, was named TranSouth's Player of the Week five times this season. Averaging 18.5 points a game with a season total of 555 points, Owino eclipsed the 2,000 point mark in her career this season. Owino also has pulled in some high NAIA ranks, including No. 1 in field goal percentage (65%), No. 9 in points per game (18.5) and No. 10 in blocks per game (1.9).

Lavanda Ross, a 5-foot-8 freshman guard from Jackson, Tenn., has made an impact her freshman year. She scored an average of 10.4 points per game and is off to a great start with an overall season total of 312 points. Ross ended the regular season with a 55.9% shooting form three-point range and 79.3% shooting from the free throw line. She ranks No. 16 in the NAIA in assist/turnover ratio (1.92).

Mark Campbell closed out this season with a perfect 16-0 mark in TranSouth play and a 29-1 regular season record, leading his team to the regular season title once again. It is the schools 11th regular season title in the 13-year history of the league. It was also the third ever undefeated regular season in TranSouth history, in which Union holds all three (1999, 2008, and 2009). This is his fifth coach award, including third in a row (2001, 2002, 2007, 2008, and 2009).

Below are the 2008-2009 TranSouth Athletic Conference Women's Basketball Awards.

Josephine Owino - Union University, SR, Mombasa, Kenya
Lavanda Ross - Union University, FR, Jackson, Tenn.
Lavanda Ross - Union University, FR, Jackson, Tenn.
Mark Campbell - Union University

Josephine Owino - Union University, SR, Mombasa, Kenya
Jana Cross - Freed-Hardeman, JR, Loretto, Tenn.
Kaitlin Dudley - Union University, JR, Bradford, Tenn.
Jennifer Bognar - Trevecca Nazarene, SR, Nashville, Tenn.
Abby Lawson - Trevecca Nazarene, JR, Ashland City, Tenn.
Tara Deatheridge - Freed-Hardeman, JR, Nashville, Tenn.
Nina Djokovoc - Bethel College, SO, Belgrade, Serbia
Kayla Hudson - Union University, SO, Gleason, Tenn.
K.K. Hodges - Lyon College, SO, Wynne, Ark.
Merideth Jacobs - Union University, SR, Bradford, Tenn.

Meribeth Boehler - Freed-Hardeman, SO, Selmer, Tenn.
K.C. Van Atta - Trevecca Nazarene, SO, Mt. Juliet, Tenn.
Whitney Robinson - Martin Methodist, JR, Brighton, Tenn.
Teena Carter - Bethel College, SO, Milan, Tenn.
Chaquaila Gaten - Cumberland Univesity, SR, Marietta, Ga.

Lavanda Ross - Union University, FR, Jackson Tenn.
Hannah Parsley - Freed-Hardeman, FR, Rector, Ark.
Lauren Ramsey - Lyon College, FR, North Little Rock, Ark.
Vanessa Pincheon - Trevecca Nazarene, FR, Fayetteville, Tenn.
Rakeshia Perry - Freed-Hardeman, FR, Trenton, Tenn.

TranSouth Scholar Athletes from Union
Merideth Jacobs, Kayla Hudson, Lindsey Flynn, Laura Crittendon


Steven Aldridge
Phone: (731) 661-5027
Sports Information
Fax: (731) 661-5182

News Release Archive

Connect with Union Athletics

Upcoming Events
Today is Sat, May 23, 2015

Excellence-Driven Christ-Centered People-Focused Future-Directed

Apply to Union Campus Visits Give to Union