Union University

Union Athletics

Athletics News Release

Union baseball opens national tournament opening round in Daytona

Union baseball
becomes sixth
Union team to
participate in
national tournament
for 2008-09 season.

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - 5/8/2009 - After claiming the 2009 TranSouth Conference Baseball Tournament title, Union University learned late Friday the location of their NAIA Baseball National Tournament Opening Round appearance. Union will travel to the Embry-Riddle (Fla.) University site in Daytona, Fla. The Bulldogs earned the five-seed and will open play versus fourth seeded Auburn-Montgomery (Ala.) on Tuesday, May 12.

This marks the first year for the NAIA to use the Opening Round format after eliminating the region tournaments after last season. Union University participated in the NAIA World Series last in 1983, finishing in third place. The Bulldogs are just four wins away from participating in their second ever NAIA World Series. From 1995 through 2008, Union participated in seven region tournaments.

Opening Round games are slated for May 12-15 at nine different sites.

The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has released the pairings and seedings for the 2009 NAIA Baseball National Championship Opening Round, scheduled for May 12-15 at nine sites across the country. Each site will feature a five-team double elimination tournament. The winners of those nine Opening Round tournaments, in addition to host school Lewis-Clark State (Idaho), will meet at the final site for the 53rd Annual Avista-NAIA World Series from May 22-29 in Lewiston, Idaho.

This marks the first year of an opening round format in NAIA baseball.

“These hosts were selected because they have a history of hosting quality NAIA events both at the conference and national level,” said NAIA Manager of Championship Sports Scott McClure. “This new format allows top-rated teams from the same conferences to play at different opening round tournaments and then for the best teams to advance to Lewiston. We look forward to working with the hosts in this exciting, new chapter of NAIA baseball.”

Belhaven (Miss.), Bellevue (Neb.), Brescia (Ky.), British Columbia, Campbellsville (Ky.), Dakota Wesleyan (S.D), Embry-Riddle (Fla.), Houston-Victoria (Texas), Indiana Tech, Jamestown (N.D.), Kansas Wesleyan, Lindenwood (Mo.), Lubbock Christian (Texas), Malone (Ohio), McKendree (Ill.), Northwood (Texas), Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.), Southern Polytechnic State (Ga.), Taylor (Ind.), Tennessee Wesleyan, Union (Tenn.) and William Penn (Iowa) all received an automatic bid after winning their respective conference/independent/unaffiliated tournaments.

Berry (Ga.), Nebraska Wesleyan, Oklahoma City, Purdue-North Central (Ind.), St. Xavier (Ill.), Texas Wesleyan, The Masters (Calif.), Union (Ky.) and William Jewell (Mo.) earned an automatic bid based on their conference qualification plan.

Auburn Montgomery (Ala.), Azusa Pacific (Calif.), Biola (Calif.), Cumberland (Tenn.), Fresno Pacific (Calif.), Lee (Tenn.), LSU-Shreveport (La.), Madonna (Mich.), Savannah College of Art & Design (Ga.), Southern Nazarene (Okla.), Spring Arbor (Mich.), Warner (Fla.), Wayland Baptist (Texas), and William Carey (Miss.) all received an at-large bid.

Opening Round Host and Schools Involved
Lubbock Christian (Texas)
No. 1 Lubbock Christian (Texas)
No. 2. Wayland Baptist (Texas)
No. 3 Northwood (Texas)
No. 4 William Jewell (Mo.)
No. 5 Houston-Victoria (Texas)

Oklahoma City
No. 1 Oklahoma City
No. 2 LSU-Shreveport (La.)
No. 3 Southern Nazarene (Okla.)
No. 4 McKendree (Ill.)
No. 5 Texas Wesleyan

Southern States Athletic Conference / Mount Berry, Ga.
No. 1 Berry (Ga.)
No. 2 Malone (Ohio)
No. 3 St. Xavier (Ill.)
No. 4 The Masters (Calif.)
No. 5 Taylor (Ind.)

Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
No. 1 Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
No. 2 Union (Ky.)
No. 3 Warner (Fla.)
No. 4 Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)
No. 5 Union (Tenn.)

Lee (Tenn.)
No. 1 Tennessee Wesleyan
No. 2 Lee (Tenn.)
No. 3 Spring Arbor (Mich.)
No. 4 Belhaven (Miss.)
No. 5 Indiana Tech

Azusa Pacific (Calif.)
No. 1 Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.)
No. 2 British Columbia
No. 3 Biola (Calif.)
No. 4 Azusa Pacific (Calif.)
No. 5 Purdue-North Central (Ind.)

William Carey (Miss.)
No. 1 Southern Polytechnic State (Ga.)
No. 2 William Carey (Miss.)
No. 3 Savannah College of Art & Design (Ga.)
No. 4 Cumberland (Tenn.)
No. 5 Brescia (Ky.)

Lindenwood (Mo.)
No. 1 Campbellsville (Ky.)
No. 2 Lindenwood (Mo.)
No. 3 Kansas Wesleyan
No. 4 William Penn (Iowa)
No. 5 Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.)

Sioux City, Iowa / Great Plains Athletic Conference
No. 1 Bellevue (Neb.)
No. 2 Fresno Pacific (Calif.)
No. 3 Madonna (Mich.)
No. 4 Jamestown (N.D.)
No. 5 Nebraska Wesleyan


Related Item(s):
NAIA Opening Round Information

Steven Aldridge
Phone: (731) 661-5027
Sports Information
Fax: (731) 661-5182

News Release Archive

Connect with Union Athletics

Upcoming Events
Today is Fri, May 22, 2015

Excellence-Driven Christ-Centered People-Focused Future-Directed

Apply to Union Campus Visits Give to Union