Union University

Union Athletics

Athletics News Release

Union volleyball team, coach honored by TranSouth

Kelly Elliott, head coach

HENDERSON, Tenn. - 11/8/2010 - The Union (Tenn.) University volleyball was front and center during the TranSouth Conference awards presentation during a break in the tournament action on Monday. Union’s team was presented their 2010 TranSouth Regular Season Championship banner, while eight players and the head coach were given individual awards.

The regular season championship is the fourth in program history for Union and first in six seasons (1999, 2000, 2004, 2010). Union finished the regular season with a 13-1 record and was three games ahead of the second place team.

Junior setter Emmie Moroski was named the TranSouth Newcomer of the Year, while head coach Kelly Elliott was named the TranSouth Coach of the Year. Marcela Madeira, Moroski, Anna Sims and Heather Lieberman were each named first team all-conference players. Kelsey Duling was named a second team all-conference performer.

Union also put eight players on the TranSouth Scholar Athlete team including Duling, Lieberman, Madeira, Moroski, Cassidy O’Hair, Sims, Lauren Sprouse and Shelby Swink.


Player of the Year: Thaise Vieira, Bethel University
Freshman of the Year: Paula Sioto, Martin Methodist College
Newcomer of the Year: Emmie Moroski, Union University
Coach of the Year: Kelly Elliott, Union University
Regular Season Champions: Union University


Thaise Vieira, Bethel University
Fernanda Ferreira, Freed-Hardeman University
Marcela Madeira, Union University
Ann-Kathrin Kuehhorn, Martin Methodist College
Sydney Rice, Freed-Hardeman University
Emmie Moroski, Union University
Anna Sims, Union University

Sandra Montoya, Freed-Hardeman University
Cassidy Watkins, Trevecca Nazarene University
Paula Sioto, Martin Methodist College
Angelyn Stanton, Cumberland University
Lori Magnusen, Bethel University
Heather Lieberman, Union University
Kaysi Arnold, Cumberland University


Brooke Cannon, Trevecca Nazarene University
Adrianna Bookout-Gonzalez, Bethel University
Amber Turner, Freed-Hardeman University
Meghan LaBorn, Lyon College
Kelsey Duling, Union University
Jessica Vieira, Bethel University
Claire Pennington, Freed-Hardeman University
Jessica Gericke, Cumberland University
Katie Perry, Mid-Continent University
Chelsea Hinton, Lyon College


Kristen Johnson, Trevecca Nazarene University
Kristen Selph, Mid-Continent University


Kelsey Duling, Heather Lieberman, Marcela Madeira, Emmie Moroski, Cassidy O'Hair, Anna Sims, Lauren Sprouse, Shelby Swink


Related Item(s):

2010 TranSouth Conference Tournament

Union wins fourth TranSouth Regular Season Title (1999, 2000, 2004, 2010).

Steven Aldridge
Phone: (731) 661-5027
Sports Information
Fax: (731) 661-5182

News Release Archive

Connect with Union Athletics

Upcoming Events
Today is Wed, May 27, 2015

Excellence-Driven Christ-Centered People-Focused Future-Directed

Apply to Union Campus Visits Give to Union