Union University

Union Athletics

Athletics News Release

Union men put three players on all-conference teams

JACKSON, Tenn. - 2/28/2011 - The No. 11 Union (Tenn.) University men’s basketball team put three players on the 2011 TranSouth Conference Postseason Honors list. CJ Davis and Stan McNeil each were named first team all-conference performers. Shane Burrell was a second team all-conference selection.

Davis, a sophomore guard, leads Union with 15 points per game and 116 made free throws (116-148, 78%). He is also third on the team with 49 three pointers. Davis is in his first season playing for the Bulldogs after transferring in and red-shirting last season.

McNeil, a senior guard, averages 11.0 points per game and has a team-high 71 three pointers made. His .483 shooting percentage from behind the arc ranks No. 3 in the NAIA. McNeil also ranks No. 13 with a 2.42 assists/turnover ratio. The Jackson State (Tenn.) product was named second team all-conference last season, his first with the Bulldogs.

Burrell, a junior forward, finished just shy of averaging a double-double for the regular season. Burrell averaged 12.3 points and 8.8 rebounds per game. He has recorded a team-high eight double-doubles on the season. Burrell ranks third in the TranSouth in rebounds per game.

After winning the past two TranSouth Championships, Union finished as the No. 2 seed in the regular season. However, a win in their final regular season game would place the Bulldogs in a tie for first in the TranSouth and a Co-Championship. Union does not hold the tie breaker over Martin Methodist (Tenn.).


2011 TranSouth All-Conference
PLAYER OF THE YEAR James Justice - Martin Methodist
NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR James Justice - Martin Methodist
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR Aaron Farris - Lyon College
COACH OF THE YEAR Andy Sharpe - Martin Methodist

James Justice - Martin Methodist
Kyle Teichmann - Freed-Hardeman
Michael France - Trevecca Nazarene
CJ Davis - Union University
Chris Ferguson - Mid-Continent
Ree McCrory - Martin Methodist
Walter Simon - Cumberland University
Andre Crudup - Bethel University
Stanley McNeil - Union University
Cedric Austin - Freed-Hardeman

Graciano Negron - Cumberland University
Chris Leggett - Martin Methodist
LaKendrick McCullum - Blue Mountain
Slater Belew - Lyon College
Shane Burrell - Union University

Aaron Farris - Lyon College
Jarvis Fisher - Blue Mountain
Caleb Hardy - Bethel University
Reggie Gilmore - Freed-Hardeman
Anthony Labellarte - Lyon College

Related Item(s):

2011 TranSouth Conference Postseason Honors/2011 TranSouth Tournament Page

Steven Aldridge
Phone: (731) 661-5027
Sports Information
Fax: (731) 661-5182

News Release Archive

Connect with Union Athletics

Upcoming Events
Today is Fri, May 22, 2015

Excellence-Driven Christ-Centered People-Focused Future-Directed

Apply to Union Campus Visits Give to Union