Union University

2009 Bulldog Soccer Quick Facts

2009 Bulldog Soccer Quick Facts

Coaching Staff

Head Coach: Clovis Simas
Office Phone: (731) 661-5533
Office Email: csimas@uu.edu
Alma Mater: Union University (2005)
Record at Union: 27-19-5, .529 (fourth season, 2006-present)
Career Record: Same

Assistant Coach: Kirk Childers (second season)
Office Phone: 731-661-6590
Office Email: kchilders@uu.edu
Alma Mater: Union University (2009)

Stadium/Facility

Field: Union Bulldog Soccer Field (Lighted)

Previous Season

Records: 9-6-2 Overall; 5-2 Conference
Conference Regular Season Finish: 3rd Place
TranSouth Conference Tournament: t-5rd Place
Final NAIA Ranking: NR

National Tournament History

NAIA Appearances: 0
NCCAA National Tournament Appearances: 5 (1998-2000, 2003, 2004)
NCCAA National Champions: 2004

NAIA Region XI Tournament Appearances

(NAIA eliminated region format in 2008-09)
2004, 2005, 2006

Top Returning Players

James Landham
Paul Turner
Raphael Carvalho
Marcos Matos
Dejan Kostic

Key Players Lost

Wagner Oliveira
Joshua Hanna
Rabo Garba
Richard Norman

Top Newcomers

Taylor Mayo
Alysson Mohl
Craig Clark
Guilherme Celli

Union Quick Facts

  • Location:
    1050 Union University Drive
    Jackson, Tennessee 38305
    Phone: (731) 661-5130
    Fax: (731) 661-5182
  • Founded: 1823
  • Enrollment: 4,205
  • Nickname: Bulldogs
  • Colors: Red & White
  • Affiliation: NAIA
  • Conference: TranSouth Conference
  • Director of Athletics:
    Tommy Sadler (tsadler@uu.edu)
    Office Phone: (731) 661-5218
  • Senior Woman Administrator,
    Life in the Balance Coach:

    Katie Woodruff (kwoodruff@uu.edu)
    Office Phone: (731) 661-5171
  • Faculty Athletic Representative:
    Dr. Keith Absher (kabsher@uu.edu)
    Office Phone: (731) 661-5367
  • Compliance Officer:
    Dr. Gary Williams (gwilliam@uu.edu)
    Office Phone: (731) 661-5632
  • Athletic Secretary:
    Teresa Thomas (tthomas@uu.edu)
    Office Phone: (731) 661-5130
  • Sports Information Director:
    Steven Aldridge (saldridge@uu.edu)
    Office Phone: (731) 661-5027
    Office Fax: (731) 661-5182
  • Websites:
    www.uu.edu/athletics
    www.facebook.com/UUAthletics www.twitter.com/UUAthletics