Department News

Department Celebrates Student Achievements at
Annual Awards Banquet

The Department of History and Political Science held its annual awards banquet in Union's Coburn Dining Room on May 4, 2006. Thirty-two people attended the banquet, which featured Dr. Keith Bates as the evening's speaker. Dr. Bates talked about "The Beliefs and Experiences of American Fundamentalists." Dr. Stephen Carls, assisted by Dr. Sean Evans for political science students, gave out several awards, including the Phi Alpha Theta Scholarship Pin for a history major, the John Burgess Award in political science, political science research paper awards, History Major and Minor Awards, Political Science Major and Minor Awards, and certificates of appreciation to the presidents of the Union Pre-Law Society, the Rutledge Honorary History Club, and the Delta-Psi chapter of Phi Alpha Theta. The names of the students and the recognitions they received are listed in the "Awards" section of the department web site. Also listed there are the Dr. James Alex Baggett History Research Award winners, who were recognized in another forum.

Attendees at the Annual Department Awards Banquet on May 4, 2006, go through the food line. The meal's main course consisted of Lasagna and chicken Parmesan.

Dr. Keith Bates, the banquet's keynote speaker, delivers his talk on "The Beliefs and Experiences of American Fundamentalists."


Department News | Faculty | Students | Student Organizations | Awards | Home