Union University
Union University Dept of History

Department News

Union’s Delta-Psi Chapter Wins Sixth Straight Phi Alpha Theta Best Chapter Award

Sep 8, 2008 - Union’s Delta-Psi Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society received word from national headquarters on September 8, 2008, that it had won its sixth straight Phi Alpha Theta Best Chapter Award for Division I colleges and universities (campuses with less than 3,000 students). With its sixth success, the chapter earned the prestigious designation of Nels A. Cleven Award. In his letter of congratulations, Dr. Jack Tunstall, Executive Director of Phi Alpha Theta, stated that a Best Chapter Award “requires tremendous time and effort to achieve, and we greatly appreciate the dedication you and your students have shown the organization.” The 2008 award included a commemorative certificate and $250 to purchase library books for Union’s library.

The 2007-2008 officers who successfully led the organization to this latest achievement were: Racheal Pressnell, president; Mary Beth Johnson, vice president; Nikki Henry, secretary; and, Joshua Abbotoy, Hannah Holliday, and Alison Forrest, senators. Dr. Stephen Carls served as the chapter’s faculty advisor.

Many of those who contributed to the success of the Delta-Psi Chapter in 2007-2008 attended the Phi Alpha Theta plenary meeting on March 4, 2008. They are: (seated, left to right) Dr. Stephen Carls, Racheal Pressnell, Daniel Doyle (visitor), Marielle Dirkx, and Cameron Armstrong; (standing, left to right) Cameron White, Daniel Freeman, Dr. Keith Bates, John Arnold, Cassie Harris, Alison Forrest, Hannah Holliday, Mary Beth Johnson, Nikki Henry, Alicia Stitch, Dr. Judy LeForge, Carl Harken, and Dr. Terry Lindley.