Union University
Union University Dept of History

Department News

Delta-Psi Chapter Initiates New Members at Phi Alpha Theta Best Chapter Award Pizza Party

Oct 2, 2008 - The Delta-Psi Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society had a pizza party on October 2, 2008, to celebrate its sixth straight Phi Alpha Theta Best Chapter Award and to initiate new members into the society. Joshua Abbotoy, Delta-Psi president, presided over a brief chapter meeting during which Vice President Carl Harken led an initiation ceremony for Noah Arnold, Lauren Bogdan, and Mary Alisa Techentin. During the party, chapter members went through publishers’ catalogs and recommended history books to purchase for Union’s library with the $250 Delta-Psi received from Phi Alpha Theta national headquarters as a part of its 2008 Best Chapter Award. Twenty-three people attended the celebration, including all of the department’s full-time faculty members.

Charles Googe (clockwise from left), Nick Brown, Mrs. Becky Lindley, Dr. Terry Lindley, and Kathleen Cooper enjoy pizza and conversation at the Phi Alpha Theta pizza party on October 2.
Cameron White (left to right), Micah Snow, and Benjamin Duffey relax outdoors during the October Phi Alpha Theta pizza party..
Lauren Bogdan, Dr. David Thomas, and Mary Alisa Techentin savor the delightful fall weather and pizza on October 2.
Mary Alisa Techentin (left to right), Lauren Bogdan, Noah Arnold, and Delta-Psi President Joshua Abbotoy listen intently as Chapter Vice President Carl Harken begins the fall-semester initiation ceremony.
Noah Arnold (left) receives his Phi Alpha Theta certificate of membership from Chapter President Joshua Abbotoy at the society’s fall pizza party.
Mary Alisa Techentin, Lauren Bogdan, and Noah Arnold display their Phi Alpha Theta certificates of membership after the fall-semester induction ceremony.