Union University
Union University Dept of History

Department News

Department Celebrates the History Club's 80th Anniversary & Academic Achievement at Awards Banquet

May 5, 2009 - The history department celebrated the 80th anniversary of the Rutledge Honorary History Club as well as students’ academic achievement at its annual awards banquet on May 5, 2009. Department Chair Dr. Stephen Carls congratulated the history club on its long record of promoting history at Union University, and history alumnus Dr. Bob R. Agee reflected on his experiences as a student history club member 50 years ago. A special feature of the evening’s celebration was guest speaker Dr. Joseph Fuhrman, professor emeritus of history at Murray State University, who presented a talk on the life of Grigori Rasputin, an immoral Russian orthodox priest and influential advisor to the Empress Alexandra in the waning years of Russia’s tsarist system. Fifty people, including department faculty, history club members and their guests, Phi Alpha Theta members, and alumni and their spouses attended the banquet.

Dr. Agee received the First Annual History Alumni Distinguished Achievement Award at the banquet. The department recognized him for his outstanding career in higher education administration. Highlights in his career included service as a religion professor and Vice President for Religious Affairs at Union and as President of Oklahoma Baptist University from 1982 to 1998. In recognition of his success at OBU, Dr. Agee was inducted into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame in 1999.

Dr. Carls presented several awards to students during the evening’s festivities. Students who received awards were: Hannah Holliday, recognized with the Phi Alpha Theta Scholarship Pin and accompanying certificate; Joshua Abbotoy and Kathleen Cooper, recipients of the history major award; Joshua Hays and Alicia Stitch, honored with the history minor award; and Trista Rowland, presented with the history student teacher award. Dr. Carls also gave Joshua Abbotoy the second place award and Kathleen Cooper the third place award in the Dr. James Alex Baggett History Research Paper Competition. Finally, Joshua Abbotoy received a certificate of appreciation for his work as president of Phi Alpha Theta this past year and Kathleen Cooper received a similar certificate for her service as president of the Rutledge Honorary History Club.

Dr. Terry Lindley welcomes attendees to the history awards banquet on May 5, 2009.

Banquet attendees prepare their plates with food at the beginning of the evening’s activities. They are (moving clockwise around the table from the left) Dr. Bob R. Agee, Dr. Carla Sanderson, Dr. Terry Lindley, Dr. Alice-Catherine Carls, Mr. Mark Abbotoy, Dr. Joseph Fuhrman, Mrs. Mary Fuhrman, and Mrs. Nell Agee.

Dr. Joseph Fuhrman, Professor Emeritus of History at Murray State University, presents his talk on Grigori Rasputin.

Kathleen Cooper, president of the Rutledge Honorary History Club, leads the induction of the club’s officers for the 2009-2010 academic year.

Rutledge Honorary History Club officers being inducted for the 2009-2010 school year are (left to right) Elizabeth Blevins, David Conway, Travis Lutz, and Noah Arnold.

Dr. Stephen Carls (left) presents the First Annual History Alumni Distinguished Achievement Award to Dr. Bob R. Agee.

Dr. Bob R. Agee reflects on his experiences as a member and president of the Rutledge Honorary History Club fifty years ago.

Hannah Holliday (right) and Dr. Stephen Carls smile together after she receives the Phi Alpha Theta Scholarship pin and accompanying certificate for demonstrating academic excellence in her history courses at Union.

Joshua Abbotoy (right) receives the congratulations of Dr. Stephen Carls on being a winner of the department’s History Major Award for outstanding work in his history courses at Union.