Union University
Union University Dept of History

Department News

Union’s Delta-Psi Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta Wins 10th Straight Best Chapter Award

Aug 8, 2012 -

Union’s Delta-Psi Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society received a letter from the society’s national headquarters on August 8, 2012, indicating that it had won a 2012 Best Chapter Award. This marks the 10th straight year that Delta-Psi has achieved this honor. In doing so, it earned the prestigious Nels A. Cleven designation, which is reserved for chapters that have won the award at least five times. Along with a certificate of commendation, the chapter received a $250 monetary prize for the purchase of history books for the Union University library. In his letter of congratulations, Phi Alpha Theta Executive Director Graydon Tunstall noted that the Nels A. Cleven distinction pays tribute “the tremendous time and effort required to maintain a chapter of this caliber so consistently.”

An enthusiastic and dedicated team of officers was critical to the success of the chapter in 2011-2012. This special group was comprised of: Caitlin Roach, president; Savannah German, vice president; Elaura Highfield, secretary; Megan Winters, senator; Joel Wellum, senator (fall semester, December graduate); and Charles Snow, senator (spring semester). Dr. Stephen Carls served as the faculty advisor.

The chapter engaged in a number of memorable activities during the year. Highlights included: a community service project at the historic Bemis theater/auditorium; attendance at a Kirkin’ of the Tartans service at a local church; a trip to the national Phi Alpha Theta Biennial Convention in Orlando, Florida; participation in the Tennessee Phi Alpha Theta Regional Conference at Middle Tennessee State University; attendance at a 150th anniversary reenactment of the Civil War Battle of Shiloh; and a baby shower for history faculty member Dr. Keith Bates and his wife Lisa during the chapter’s annual spring cookout.

The Delta-Psi Chapter's 10 Best Chapter Award certificates from Phi Alpha Theta adorn a table in the history department in August, 2012.

Phi Alpha Theta members join together for a photo at the Delta-Psi Chapter's fall initiation and plenary meeting in September, 2011. They are: (seated on the floor, left to right) Patricia Dawson, Hannah Marsh, Rebekah Anderson, and Mary Ellen Poe; (seated on furniture, left to right) Dr. Stephen Carls, Joel Wellum, Caitlin Roach, Savannah German, and Dr. Judy LeForge; (standing, left to right) Dr. Henry Allen, Wil Sloan, Will Miller, Samuel Wiggin, Kaleb Noblett, Jeffrey Lewoczko, and Dr. Keith Bates. Photo by Ebbie Davis Phi Alpha.

Delta-Psi Chapter members take time for a group photo during a plenary meeting/initiation in February, 2012. They are: (front row, left to right) Elaura Highfield, Megan Winters, Mary Ellen Poe, Patricia Dawson, Savannah German, Hannah Marsh, and Caitlin Roach; (second row, left to right) Will Miller, Dr. Keith Bates, Heather Stricklin, Allie Durham, Gracie Wise, and Dr. Judy LeForge; (back row, left to right) Dr. Stephen Carls, Dr. Henry Allen, James Fowler, Colton Gebben, Jeffrey Lewoczko, Charles Snow, and Logan Smith.

Delta-Psi Chapter President Caitlin Roach (right) and Vice President Savannah German lead a Phi Alpha Theta plenary meeting in February, 2012.