Union University
Union University Dept of History

Department News

Phi Alpha Theta Chapter Wins Second-Straight Best Chapter Award

Oct 15, 2004 - Union’s Delta-Psi Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta (National History Honor Society) received word from the society’s national headquarters in early October 2004 that it has won its second-straight Best Chapter Award. The award consists of a commemorative certificate and up to $250 for the purchase of history books for Union’s library.

In his announcement letter, Dr. Jack Tunstall, the society’s executive director, stated that the “competition is always intense with multiple chapters vying for this award. However, the Delta-Psi chapter truly stood out among its competitors.”

Spencer Lowery was the chapter president in 2003-2004, when the chapter’s activities that counted for the award took place, and Dr. Stephen Carls was the faculty advisor. The Delta-Psi Chapter, which was founded in 1953, is Tennessee’s oldest.

Spencer Lowery (left), the Delta-Psi Chapter president for 2003-2004, stands with Heather Tobe, the current president, at a party held on October 29, 2004, to celebrate the chapter’s second-straight Best Chapter Award. Nineteen people attended the celebration.