Union University
Union University Dept of History

Department News

Department Honors Its December Graduates

Dec 19, 2004 - Department faculty and the Delta-Psi Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta on December 10 honored department majors graduating from Union on December 18, 2004.  Nineteen  people attended a dinner at Dr. Stephen Carls’s home to celebrate the successful college careers of Ian Crawford, Samuel Melton, and Christopher Winter, who were the guests of honor (December graduates Tyler Givan and Grant Taylor were unable to attend).  Dr. Carls’s wife, Dr. Alice-Catherine Carls, prepared a completely French dinner that began with some bouchées à la reine and ended with a dessert of a French yule log cake and a marquise au chocolat cake.  Following a brief program, department faculty joined together as a team to play a game of Scattergories against a team of students.

Those attending the December graduation dinner are: (front row seated, left to right) Natalie Treece, Dr. Sean Evans, Prof. Brenda Alexander, Dr. Stephen Carls, Gayra Jones, Cassie Harris, and Jessica Gertig; (second row standing, left to right) Prof. Keith Bates, Dr. Terry Lindley, Christopher Winter, Elizabeth Carls, Dr. Judy LeForge, Dr. David Thomas, Jennifer May, Heather Tobe, and Dr. Kevin Cooney; (third row standing, left and right) Ian Crawford and Samuel Melton.  Not pictured is hostess and chef Dr. Alice-Catherine Carls.

The graduating seniors who were the guests of honor at the dinner are: (left to right) Samuel Melton, Ian Crawford, and Christopher Winter.

The history and political science faculty at the dinner pose for the camera: (front row, left to right) Dr. Judy LeForge, Dr. Stephen Carls, Prof. Brenda Alexander; (back row, left to right) Dr. Kevin Cooney, Dr. Sean Evans, Prof. Keith Bates, Dr. Terry Lindley, and Dr. David Thomas.

Sam Melton (left) and Elizabeth Carls (right) contribute to the student team’s effort during the Scattergories competition with department faculty.

Members of the student team pool their thoughts on words to write down during a segment of the Scattergories game against department faculty.  The students are (left to right) Natalie Treece, Ian Crawford, Jessica Gertig, Jennifer May, and Gayra Jones.