Union University
Union University Dept of History

Department News

Phi Alpha Theta Chapter Wins 11th Straight Best Chapter Award

Sep 10, 2013 -

Union’s Delta-Psi chapter of Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society received a letter on September 10, 2013, from Dr. Graydon Tunstall, the society’s national executive director, announcing that it had won a 2013 Best Chapter Award. This marks the 11th straight year that the chapter has achieved this honor and the 6th year in a row that it has earned the prestigious Nels A. Cleven designation that goes with winning the award more than five times. In his letter, Tunstall praised the chapter for its “exemplary efforts” and its “admirable dedication to the organization.” The award consists of a Best Chapter Award certificate and a monetary prize of $250 that will be used to purchase history books for Union’s Emma Waters Summar Library. Tunstall will officially present the award certificate to Delta-Psi at a 60th anniversary luncheon that the chapter will hold on October 30, 2013.

The officers in charge of Union’s Phi Alpha Theta chapter during the 2012-2013 academic year – the year for which the award was given – included: Jeffrey Lewoczko, president; Mary Ellen Poe, vice president; Patricia Dawson, secretary; Allie Durham, senator; and Charles Snow, senator. Dr. Stephen Carls was the chapter advisor

Phi Alpha Theta chapter Vice President Charles Snow and President Gracie Wise hold a letter received on September 10, 2013, from National Executive Director Dr. Graydon Tunstall congratulating the Delta-Psi chapter on its success in winning an 11th straight Best Chapter Award in 2013.

Delta-Psi chapter officers from 2012-2013 stand together at Belmont University where they presented papers at the Tennessee Phi Alpha Theta Regional Conference on February 23, 2013. They are (left to right) Secretary Patricia Dawson, President Jeffrey Lewoczko, and Vice President Mary Ellen Poe.

Members of Union's Delta-Psi chapter of Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society join together for a photo during their spring plenary meeting on February 19, 2013. They are: (front row, left to right) Grace Morriss, Mary Ellen Poe, Patricia Dawson, Gracie Wise, Wil Sloan, and Jordan Hayes; (second row, left to right) Ginny Seger, Zach Thompson, Colton Gebben, Allie Durham, Heather Stricklin, Luke Trammell, and Colby Benefield; (third row, left to right) Shelby Pace, Jeffrey Lewoczko, Dr. Judy LeForge, Dr. Henry Allen, Lowell Van Ness, Charles Snow, Logan Smith, Dr. Keith Bates, and Dr. Stephen Carls. Photo by Jacob Moore