Union University
Union University Dept of History

Department News

Carls Elected National President of Phi Alpha Theta

Jan 4, 2014 -

Dr. Stephen Carls was officially elected national president of Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society on January 4, 2014, the final day of formal activities at the society’s biennial convention in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The election took place at the organization’s morning business meeting. That same evening, outgoing president Robert Carriker of Gonzaga University handed Carls the symbol of the office – the Phi Alpha Theta Spoon of Authority – at the society’s Presidential Banquet. Carls’s term as president will run through the 2016 biennial convention.

Carls has a long-standing relationship with Phi Alpha Theta. He was inducted into the society at the University of Minnesota in the fall of 1970, and he has served as the faculty advisor to Union’s Delta-Psi chapter since 1983. At the national level, he has been a council member, an advisory board member, and vice president. The Delta-Psi chapter has won 11 straight Phi Alpha Theta Best Chapter Awards dating back to 2003.

Outgoing Phi Alpha Theta president Robert Carriker of Gonzaga University congratulates Dr. Stephen Carls after presenting him with the symbol of presidential authority in the society, the Phi Alpha Theta spoon, on January 4, 2014, at the conclusion of the society's biennial convention.

Dr. Stephen Carls expresses gratitude to Phi Alpha Theta as he assumes the presidency of the organization at the Presidential Banquet on January 4, 2014.

Newly elected Phi Alpha Theta president Stephen Carls (center) stands with Executive Director Graydon Tunstall and three members of Union University's delegation at the biennial convention in Albuquerque, New Mexico, on January 4, 2014. The Union students are (left to right) Gracie Wise, Shelby Pace, and Heather Stricklin.