Union University
Union University Dept of History

Department News

Union’s Phi Alpha Theta Chapter Wins Fifth Straight Best Chapter Award

Sep 22, 2007 - The national headquarters of Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society announced in early August that Union’s Delta-Psi Chapter won a Best Chapter Award for 2007. This marks the fifth straight year that the chapter has earned this recognition. In addition to a certificate of commendation, the chapter received a prize of up to $250 for the purchase of history books for Union’s library. In his letter of congratulations, Dr. Jack Tunstall, executive director of the national organization, praised the chapter for its “high level of success” in 2006-2007, and added: “Every year we receive multiple applications for this award, but Delta-Psi is truly a step above the rest.”

John Crawford, the 2006-2007 chapter president and now a graduate student at the Patterson School of Diplomacy at the University of Kentucky, was delighted when he learned of the award. He commented: “I know that Dr. Carls, the other members, and I put a lot of work into making this a special year for Phi Alpha Theta. We were involved in a service project at the Ames Plantation where we learned about some actual methods used to preserve historical artifacts. A few of us also presented papers at the regional Phi Alpha Theta conference in Nashville. It’s nice to be rewarded for your hard work.”

The Delta-Psi Chapter will celebrate its 2007 Best Chapter Award achievement with a homemade pizza party in October.

2007 Best Chapter
Phi Alpha Theta members stand together following an initiation ceremony on September 21, 2006. Those at the ceremony include: (front row, left to right) Dr. Terry Lindley, Brendan Crozier, Joshua Abbotoy, Racheal Pressnell, Sarah Nadaskay, Mary Beth Johnson, Nikki Henry, Racheal Campbell, and Dr. Stephen Carls; (back row, left to right) Cameron Armstrong, Brendon Kuhlman, Jared Myracle, Ben Burleson, John Crawford, Bethany Kossick, Joshua Tackett, and Dr. Keith Bates. Members of the 2006-2007 Delta-Psi Chapter not in the photo were: John Vinson Arnold, Philip Carls, Abby Carpenter, Dr. Kevin Cooney, Daniel Freeman, D. L. Frugé, Cassie Harris, Hannah Holliday, Dr. Judy LeForge, Douglas Martin, Marko Pavlovic, and Trista Rowland.