Union University
Union University Dept of History

Department News

Department Holds Annual Awards Banquet on May 1

May 1, 2008
The Department of History held its annual awards banquet on May 1, 2008. Twenty-nine people attended the dinner, which is sponsored by the Rutledge Honorary History Club. Dr. Terry Lindley, the club sponsor, presided at the banquet, and History Club President Mary Beth Johnson initiated Tim Call and Kate Cline into the organization. The featured speaker was Dr. David Thomas, who reflected on what he did professionally during his fall 2007 study leave.

Department Chair Dr. Stephen Carls recognized several students for their outstanding work in history, including: Mary Beth Johnson, the Phi Alpha Theta Scholarship Key winner; Abby Carpenter, the recipient of the History Major Award; Marielle Dirkx and Andrew Gray, winners of the History Minor Award; Nikki Henry, the History Student Teacher Award honoree; and Cameron Armstrong, the winner of the History Department Service Award. Dr. Carls also recognized several students for the quality of their research papers in the Dr. James Alex Baggett History Research Paper Competition: Cameron Armstrong won second place in the competition, Abby Carpenter earned third place, and Kathleen Cooper and Daniel Freeman received honorable mention. The first place winner, Mary Thompson, was announced at Union’s Awards Day Convocation on May 8, 2008.

Finally, Dr. Carls gave certificates of appreciation to Racheal Pressnell, President of the Delta-Psi Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society, and Mary Beth Johnson, President of the Rutledge Honorary History Club, for their dedicated work as leaders of the department’s two student organizations.

Awards banquet attendees prepare their plates with food on May 1, 2008. They include (facing the camera, left to right, beginning at the salad bowl) David Kartzinel, Nick Brown, Mary Thompson, Dr. Keith Bates, and Noah Arnold.

Dr. Terry Lindley begins the formal program at the banquet by introducing Dr. David Thomas as the featured speaker.

Dr. David Thomas talks about his 2007 fall semester study leave.

Kate Cline and Tim Call prepare to take the initiation oath for membership in the Rutledge Honorary History Club.

Mary Beth Johnson proudly shows off her Phi Alpha Theta Scholarship pin while standing with Dr. Stephen Carls.

Abby Carpenter receives the History Major Award from Dr. Stephen Carls.

Racheal Pressnell accepts her certificate of appreciation from Dr. Stephen Carls for her work as president of the Delta-Psi Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta in 2007-2008.