Union University

Union University Department of Political Science

Department of Political Science


Dr. Cooney Elected President of Christians in Political Science

Oct 8, 2008

Dr. Kevin Cooney Associate Professor of Political Science at Union University has just been elected as the eighth President of Christians in Political Science. He suceeds Amy Black of Wheaton College. Christians in Political Science (CPS) is an international professional association of Political Scientists who are Christians. The organization was founded in 1991 to help assist Christian faculty in the greater academy. The purpose of CPS is to support Christian Political Scientists with the integration of their faith in their research and teaching and to provide a forum for fellowship. CPS is recognized as an affiliated group of the American Political Science Association (APSA) the largest professional organization for Political Scientists and has an annual meeting in conjunction with the annual APSA meeting. CPS also has a biennial conference to encourage fellowship and networking among its members. All three members of the Union University Political Science Department are members of CPS. Other CPS officers that were also elected are as follows: Vice-President: Mark David Hall of George Fox University, Treasurer: Larycia Hawkins of Wheaton College, Secretary: Robert Lloyd of Pepperdine University, and Communications Director: James Penning of Calvin College. Each officer serves a two year term.