Union University
Union University Dept of Language

External Study Opportunities


Department Study Tours

Art/English/Music Departments: Europe

  • Dates: Winter
  • Course Offerings: Art 210, English 201, 202
  • Contact: Dr. David Malone (dmalone@uu.edu) or Dr. Steve Halla (shalla@uu.edu)

Holocaust Tour: Europe

  • Dates: Summer
  • Contact: Dr. Stephen Carls (scarls@uu.edu)

Social Work Department: Cape Town, South Africa

  • Dates: Summer
  • Contact: Mary Anne Poe (mpoe@uu.edu)

Social Work Department: Nicaragua

  • Dates: Winter
  • Contact: Virginia Schwindt (vschwindt@uu.edu)

Biology Department: Gulf Coast Research Lab

  • Dates: Winter
  • Course Offerings: Bio 356, Bio 357
  • Contact: Dr. Andy Madison (amadison@uu.edu) or Dr. James Kerfoot (jkerfoot@uu.edu)

Course Excursions

Christian Studies: Turkey

  • Dates: Spring Break
  • Course Offering: CHR 112 New Testament
  • Contact: Dr. Mark Dubis (mdubis@uu.edu)

Hybrid Programs

Biology Department: England/Ireland

  • Dates: Fall
  • Area of Concentration: Biology and Core
  • Contact: Biology Department

Department Sponsored Programs

Education Department: CCTECC Overseas Student Teaching

  • Dates: Spring
  • Contact: Dr. Dottie Myatt (dmyatt@uu.edu)

Intensa Language Institute, Costa Rica (intense.com)

  • Course Offerings: Spanish 112, 211, 313
  • Contact: The Institute for International and Intercultural Studies (vmalone@uu.edu)

Languages DeTartment: Chicoutimi, Canada/Angers, France

  • Dates: Summer
  • Area of Concentration: French Language and Culture
  • Contact: Language Department

Languages Department: Toledo, Spain

  • Dates: Summer
  • Area of Concentration: Spanish Language and Culture
  • Contact: Language Department

Languages Department: Summer Institute of Linguistics (SIL) at University of North Dakota

  • Dates: Summer
  • Contact: Language Department

Social Work Department: Field Practicum

  • Dates: Spring (2015)
  • Contact: Roslyn Wilson (rwilson@uu.edu)

Exchange Programs

University of Orleans, Orleans, France

Ansgar College and Theological Seminary (Kristiansand, Norway)

Baptist Theological Seminary of Singapore (Singapore, Singapore)

Ecole de Langue française et de Culture Québecoise, Chicoutimi, Canada

Individual International Programs

Salzburg College, Salzburg, Austria

  • Dates: Summer, Fall and Spring Semester Programs
  • Areas of Concentration: European Studies, Communication Studies, International Business, Studio Art and Photography, Music Performance
  • Contact: Institute for International and Intercultural Studies

Cortona, Italy

  • Dates: Fall and Spring Semester Programs
  • Area of Concentration: Art
  • Contact Person: Art Department

Lithuanian Christian College International University (LCC)

  • Dates: Summer and Semester Programs
  • Areas of Concentration: Business, English, Theology, Psychology, Sociology
  • Contact: Institute for International and Intercultural Studies

Pre-Approved External Program Providers

Consortium for Global Education (cgedu.org): Contact the Institute for additional information.

  • Arab Language and Culture Program: Amman Jordan
  • Area of Concentration: Arabic Language
  •  
  • Australian Internship experience
  • Various areas of Concentration

Cultural Experiences Abroad (gowithcea.com): Contact the Institute for additional information.

The Institute for Study Abroad, Butler University (ifsa-butler.org): Contact the Institute for additional information

International Studies Abroad (studiesabroad.com): Contact the Institute for additional information

CCCU Programs (bestsemester.com): Contact the Institute for additional information

  • Australia Studies Centre
  • Areas of Concentration: Biblical Studies, Music, Theatre, Art
  • China Studies Program
  • Areas of Concentration: Art, Business, Communication Art, History, Political Science, Intercultural Studies
  • Latin American Studies Program
  • Areas of Concentration: Spanish, International Business, Marketing, Environmental Science, Intercultural Studies
  • Middle East Studies Program
  • Areas of Concentration: History, Political Science, Biblical Studies, Sociology
  • Russian Studies Program
  • Areas of Concentration: International Business, Economics, History, Biblical Studies, Intercultural Studies
  • Scholar's Semester in Oxford
  • Areas of Concentration: All majors and fields of study
  • Uganda Studies Program
  • Areas of Concentration: Biblical Studies, History, Political Science, Literature

Domestic Off-Campus Programs

Los Angeles Film Studies Center (CCCU)

  • Dates: Full semester programs
  • Areas of Concentration: Communication Arts
  • Contact Person: Dr. Chris Blair

American Studies Program (CCCU)

  • Dates: Full semester programs
  • Areas of Concentration: History and Political Science
  • Contact Person: History or Political Science Department

Washington Journalism Center (CCCU)

  • Dates: Full semester programs
  • Areas of Concentration: Communication Arts
  • Contact Person: Communication Arts Department

Summer Institute of Linguistics (SIL) at University of North Dakota

  • Dates: Summer
  • Contact: Language Department