Skip to main content
Union University

News Releases

Union grads awarded medals of excellence

JACKSON, Tenn.Dec. 18, 2001 – At the traditional graduation luncheon held the day before Union’s recent December graduation, awards were given to honor the hard work and perseverance of the graduating seniors. Dr. Carla Sanderson, provost to the university, officiated. The following awards were given:

Academic Excellence Medals – Presented by Union University to the graduating senior with the highest grade point average in each discipline, provided the student’s GPA in the major is not less than 3.50. A student minoring in a discipline in which there is no qualifying major or in which no major is offered is also eligible for a medal. The following students received medals for academic excellence:

Major in Accounting – Mindie Bennett
Major in Economics/Finance – Emily Yarbro
Major in Management – Blake Wilsford
Major in Marketing – Robert McKenzie, III
Major in Art – Lori Neal
Major in Christian Studies – Janni Firestone
Major in Biblical Studies – Daniel Davis
Major in Biblical Studies-Languages – Adam McCollum
Major in Christian Ethics
Major in Communication Arts
Major in Family Studies – Amy Collier
Minor in Human Studies – Sonya Stokes
Major in English – Jeremy Isaac
Minor in History – Daniel Davis
Minor in Interdisciplinary Studies – Adam McCollum and Matthew Shockey
Major in Computer Science – Katie Miller
Major in Mathematics – Nicole McDowell
Major in French – Jennifer McClearen
Major in Spanish – Cassie White
Minor in International Studies – Jessica Sharpe
Major in Music Education – Chad Wilson
Major in Nursing – Sadie Bledsoe
Major in Learning Foundations – Kari Krawcysk
Major in Organizational Leadership – Peggy Moore
Major in Psychology – Mattie Calahan
Minor in Sociology – Lanese Dockery

Members of Alpha Chi Honorary Scholastic Fraternity, open to the top ranking ten percent of junior and senior undergraduates, were also recognized. They included: Amy Collier, Daniel Davis, Heather Gardner, Johnna Green, Adam McCollum and Emily Yarbro.

Members of Alpha Sigma Lambda National Honor Society, open to the upper ten percent of Adult Studies students, were recognized. They included: Sadie Bledsoe, William Cain, Tonyia Coudret, Lenard Dungan, Jr., Barry Farley, Shelia Guthrie, Nancy Henson, Mary Howell, Jody Loftis, Vonda Mathenia, Steven Matheny, Peggy Moore, Jerry Phillips, Windy Richards, Christy Rowsey, Alan Russell, Joan Sousoulas, Vicki Talley, Sam Turner, Beverly Vos, Melinda Wagoner, Steven Watson, Bryan Wilkie and Tonya Wilkie.

Students recognized in Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges were: Amy Collier, Johanna Green, Jennifer McClearen, Adam McCollum, Nicole McDowell, Jenifer Williams and Emily Yarbro.

Media contact: Sara B. Horn,, 731-661-5215