The ACM Chapter at Union University is an official affiliate of ACM, the world's largest educational and scientific computing society. Union had an ACM chapter prior to 1989, but Union's current chapter started in 1994 with Judith Belew as its first president and Pat Laffoon as its first faculty advisor. Here are some things that Union's ACM chapter does:

  • Invite special guest speakers for chapter meetings
  • Take field trips to local companies to learn how computers are actually used in commercial settings.
  • Travel to academic conferences and participate in programming competitions.
  • Sponsor gaming competitions among college students.
  • Host cookouts to make new friends.

Since 2009, we have been providing low cost, high quality computer services to the Union community. Many Union students and professors take advantage of the fact that their computers can be fixed at a much lower price than that charged by Geek Squad and local computer shops.

List of current members:

  • Grant Godel
  • Ben Horne
  • Stephen Clement
  • TJ Johnson
  • Luke Ferguson
  • Nathan Webb
  • David Clark
  • John Ackerman

ACM Alumni

  • Grayson Hardaway (2012), Department of Defense, Washington, D.C.
  • Jeremy (Travis) Sims (2012), Best Buy, Jackson, TN
  • Andrew Moore (2012), Franklin American Mortgage Company, Franklin, TN

Programming competition 2012
By Captain Kirk

Programming competition 2012
By Captain Kirk