Union University

Union University Department of Political Science

Department of Political Science


Union Earns Second Straight Best Delegation Honor at TISL

Dec 2, 2010

Delegates from Union University to the 41st General Assembly of the Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature earned the Best Delegation award for their role in the proceedings Nov. 18-21 at the State Capitol in Nashville.

TISL is a statewide organization formed in 1966 to give college students a voice in state government. The nonpartisan organization convenes a General Assembly each year, held in the Tennessee General Assembly’s chambers, for students to introduce debate and vote on legislation about state issues.

Eighteen Union University students participated in the event including political science students Reid Benson, Cody Goodman, Ryan Hoover, Will McClure, Kylie McDonald, Katie Mohler, Caraline Rickard, and Luke Trammell.

The Best Delegation designation is given to the group that distinguishes itself by being active during debates, presenting good bills and overall involvement in the proceedings. At the end of the session, the nine members of the executive council select the recipient of the Best Delegation from among the 37 colleges and universities represented at the assembly.

Union has won the Best Delegation award twice in a row, and three times in the last four years.

“It’s great for Union to be able to show that we can compete intellectually and academically with anyone,” said Union senior Micah Roeder, who served as the head delegate for Union’s delegation.

Union sophomore Shelly Ezell was elected to serve as speaker pro tem of the House of Representatives for next year’s meeting. Luke Trammel was recognized as a Top Lobbyist, and Caraline Rickard won Best Overall Senator.

Several members of Union’s delegation also served in various roles in this year’s General Assembly, including Will McClure, who served as treasurer, Katie Mohler, who served as chief clerk of the House, Ryan Hoover, who was an assistant clerk and Karl Magnuson and Kylie McDonald, who served as deputy clerks.

Revised article from Tim Ellsworth, Union's Director of News and Media Relations