Union University

Union University Department of Political Science

Department of Political Science


Evans Ends Term as President of TPSA

Apr 21, 2008

This past weekend, Sean Evans, Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Political Science, ended his term as President of the Tennessee Political Science Association.

During his term, Dr. Evans reached out to other organizations to promote civic education across the state. The most important partnership he made was with the Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature. TISL allows college students across the state to learn parliamentary procedure and legislative politics by convening for a mock legislative session every fall.

Due to this partnership, the TPSA is joining with TISL, the Tennessee Bar Association, and the Tennessee Supreme Court to create the Tennessee Intercollegiate Supreme Court. This court will be charged with interpreting the TISL Constitution and presiding over the Apellate Moot Court Collegiate Challenge. The TPSA is also working with TISL in creating the Tennessee Leadership Institute where students can learn more about Tennessee government and history.