Union University

Union University Department of Political Science

Department of Political Science


Political Science Honors Society Comes to Union

May 7, 2008

On Friday, May 2, the political science department hosted the inaugural meeting of the Union University chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha took place. Pi Sigma Alpha is the only National Political Science honors society and honors students who have demonstrated excellence in their study of politics. Seven students and three faculty members were initiated: Marielle Dirkx Chelsea Freemon Rachel Hoyt Mary Beth Johnson Alex Scarbrough Paul Scott Nathan Tilly Dr. Kevin Cooney Dr. Sean Evans Dr. Micah Watson Dr. James Humphreys of Murray State University represented the society and gave a short address on leadership. Every new initiate received a certificate and publicly declared a favorite political thinker or political actor. Nietzsche received two votes, causing some consternation among the PSC faculty. Dr. Watson resisted pointing out to Dr. Evans and Dr. Cooney that these students didn’t have Dr. Watson for Western Political Thought. Officers were chosen for the upcoming 2008-2009 school year. Alex Scarbrough will act as President, Jordan Scott will act as Vice-President and Nathan Tilly will serve as treasurer. Membership in Pi Sigma Alpha is open to juniors and seniors who have taken at least ten PSC credits, have at least 3.3 overall GPA and at least a 3.0 GPA in PSC courses. One does not need to be a PSC major to join Pi Sigma Alpha. Next Fall Union’s chapter will resume meetings and we’ll look forward to a new class of initiates.